image of a vessel

Discussion board focusing on Great Lakes Shipping Question & Answer. From beginner to expert all posts are welcome.
Denny

Re: image of a vessel

Unread post by Denny »

The Algoma Innovator could surely use some paint! Amazing that it was built in either 2017 or 2018 yet when you see it and pictures, it looks like it’s been sailing forever! I suppose this has to do too with all the salt loads they’ve carried in the past few seasons.

Unread post by Guest »

guest wrote:The moral to this discusion is "you never get a 2nd chance to make a good 1st impression !

Perhaps from a boatnerd's perspective in regards to appearance but likely not from a business perspective. For example, I worked in the manufacturing sector for over 25 years and I never once saw an instance in which the appearance of any company's tractor-trailers we used to ship products ever factored into the decision of awarding hauling contracts.
Old Sailor

Unread post by Old Sailor »

Sitting in north slip in Sarnia last week was the Robert S Pearson of Lower Lakes and which belongs to Rand Corp. It looks like it should be heading for scrap as its is a sorry looking rust bucket.Lakes

Unread post by guest »

The moral to this discusion is "you never get a 2nd chance to make a good 1st impression !
Guest 999

Unread post by Guest 999 »

Guest wrote:I don’t even think you will see any substantial work done on the new builds what I’ve heard is once there worn out they’ll be replaced, they were planned with a short lifespan 30yrs maybe,
Agreed, a chief engineer stated to me that the philosophy with one of the Canadian fleets was lifespan expectancies were going to be in the 25 year range with the new foreign built hulls.

Unread post by Guest »